You are logged in as an admin user. This page is cached for performance until Thu, 11 Aug 2022 15:15:43 GMT. Preview latest contents by clicking Refresh.
Logout

COMMONWEALTH PARLIAMENTARY ASSOCIATION


Founded in 1911, the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) exists to develop, promote and support parliamentarians and parliamentary staff to identify benchmarks of good governance and to implement the enduring values of the Commonwealth. The CPA is an international community of around 180 Commonwealth parliaments and legislatures working together to deepen the Commonwealth’s commitment to the highest standards of democratic governance. 

 

The CPA’s 180 branches are divided into nine CPA regions: Africa; Asia; Australia; British Islands and the Mediterranean; Canada; Caribbean, Americas and the Atlantic; India; Pacific; and South‑East Asia. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Head of the Commonwealth, is the Patron of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, and the position of Vice-Patron is reserved for the head of state or government of the CPA branch hosting the next plenary conference (at present, Canada).

 

Parliaments, their members and officials learn from each other through CPA activities including: annual Commonwealth parliamentary conferences and regional conferences; professional development courses; interparliamentary visits; parliamentary seminars and thematic workshops; and publications such as The Parliamentarian, which is the Journal of Commonwealth Parliaments. Networks include CPA Small Branches, Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) and Commonwealth Parliamentarians with Disabilities. Visit www.cpahq.org for further information.

ASSOCIATION PARLEMENTAIRE DU COMMONWEALTH


Fondée en 1911, l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC) a pour mission de développer, de promouvoir et de soutenir le travail des parlementaires et du personnel parlementaire afin de définir des critères de bonne gouvernance et de mettre en œuvre les valeurs durables du Commonwealth. L’APC est une communauté internationale d’environ 180 parlements et assemblées législatives du Commonwealth qui travaillent ensemble pour approfondir l’engagement du Commonwealth à respecter les normes les plus élevées de la gouvernance démocratique.

 

Les 180 sections sont réparties en neuf régions de l’APC : Afrique, Asie, Australie, Méditerranée et îles britanniques, Canada, Caraïbes, Amériques et Atlantique, Inde, Pacifique et Asie du Sud‑Est. Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, chef du Commonwealth, est la présidente d’honneur de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, et le poste de vice-président d’honneur est réservé au chef d’État ou de gouvernement de la section de l’APC qui accueille la prochaine conférence plénière (actuellement, le Canada).

 

Les parlements, les parlementaires et leurs représentants officiels apprennent les uns des autres grâce aux activités de l’APC, notamment les conférences parlementaires annuelles du Commonwealth et les conférences régionales, les cours de perfectionnement professionnel, les visites interparlementaires, les séminaires parlementaires, les ateliers thématiques et les publications telles que The Parliamentarian, qui est le bulletin des parlements du Commonwealth. Les réseaux comprennent les petites sections de l’APC, les Femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth (FPC) et les Parlementaires handicapés du Commonwealth. Pour plus d’informations, consultez le site www.cpahq.org.