FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 17, 2022

UPDATE: Accreditation requests will be accepted onsite (photo ID required). Please visit the registration desk (Argyle St. entrance) between 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to be directed to the media accreditation office. 

MEDIA ADVISORY 


Governor General, Speaker of the House of Commons to open global conference of Commonwealth parliamentarians

HALIFAX – The Honourable Anthony Rota, Speaker of the House of Commons and President of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), looks forward to welcoming the 65th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference (CPC) to Halifax, Nova Scotia, August 20 to 26, 2022. This flagship event serves as an annual forum on global political issues and developments in the parliamentary system for representatives of Commonwealth parliaments and legislatures. 

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada and Vice-Patron of the CPA, will join Mr. Rota in delivering opening remarks at the official opening on Tuesday, August 23, at 5:30 p.m. ADT. The Honourable George Furey, Speaker of the Senate, will also be in attendance. 

The conference will be hosted by the Canada Region of the CPA, which is composed of the branches representing the federal Parliament and all provincial and territorial legislatures. The event will bring together close to 400 Commonwealth parliamentarians, with delegations from 126 national and subnational legislatures representing 42 Commonwealth countries, under the theme Inclusive, Accessible, Accountable and Strong Parliaments: the Cornerstone of Democracy and Essential for Development.”

The Speakers will be joined by a federal delegation of the CPA Canadian Branch led by Ms. Alexandra Mendès, M.P., and several provincial and territorial delegations.

The CPA International Executive Committee and its Secretary-General, Stephen Twigg, will also be present. Mr. Twigg will be available for interviews throughout the conference.

Speaker Rota stated: “As CPA President, I am pleased to welcome parliamentarians and their staff from across the Commonwealth to Halifax, one of Canada’s historic cities. In the days ahead, I look forward to renewing and strengthening our relationships with kindred parliaments united by the Commonwealth’s enduring values.”

Conference sessions open to the media

Media are invited to attend the sessions outlined below and are asked to apply for accreditation by Saturday, August 20, 8:00 p.m. ADT. Detailed instructions and resources are available in the media guide (PDF).

 

CPC official opening – photo opportunity

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada and Vice-Patron of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), and the Honourable Anthony Rota, M.P., Speaker of the House of Commons and President of the CPA, will deliver opening remarks to the assembly of dignitaries and delegates.

Date:

Tuesday, August 23, 2022

Time:

5:30 p.m. ADT

Location:

Halifax Convention Centre, 1650 Argyle St., Halifax, Nova Scotia

 

Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians conference opening 

Date:

Sunday, August 21, 2022

Time:

3:00 p.m. ADT

Location:

Halifax Convention Centre, 1650 Argyle St., Halifax, Nova Scotia

 

Small branches conference opening 

Date:

Sunday, August 21, 2022

Time:

3:00 p.m. ADT

Location:

Halifax Convention Centre, 1650 Argyle St., Halifax, Nova Scotia

 

For additional information—including the official program, delegate biographies, workshops, photos, and regular updates—please visit the 65th CPC website.

 

For more information

Heather Bradley 
Director of Communications 
Office of the Speaker of the House of Commons 

613-292-0881 

heather.bradley@parl.gc.ca

---

Daniel Martineau

Communications Officer 

International and Interparliamentary Affairs

613-296-1218 
daniel.martineau@parl.gc.ca

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE
Le 17 août 2022

MISE À JOUR : Les demandes d’accréditation seront acceptées sur place (pièce d’identité avec photo requise). Veuillez-vous rendre au bureau d’inscription (par l’entrée de la rue Argyle) entre 7 h et 17 h pour être dirigé vers le bureau d’accréditation des médias.

AVIS AUX MÉDIAS 


La gouverneure générale et le Président de la Chambre des communes ouvriront la conférence mondiale des parlementaires du Commonwealth

Halifax – L’honorable Anthony Rota, Président de la Chambre des communes et président de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC), est heureux d’accueillir la 65e Conférence parlementaire du Commonwealth (CPC) à Halifax, en Nouvelle‑Écosse, du 20 au 26 août 2022. Cet événement phare sert de forum annuel aux représentants des parlements et des assemblées législatives du Commonwealth qui discutent d’enjeux politiques mondiaux et de l’évolution du système parlementaire.

Son Excellence la très honorable Mary Simon, gouverneure générale du Canada et vice-présidente d’honneur de l’APC, se joindra à M. Rota pour prononcer le discours d’ouverture lors de l’inauguration officielle de la conférence, le mardi 23 août à 17 h 30 (HAA). L’honorable George J. Furey, Président du Sénat, sera également présent.

La conférence sera organisée par la région canadienne de l’APC, qui est composée de sections représentant le Parlement fédéral et toutes les assemblées législatives provinciales et territoriales. L’événement rassemblera quelque 400 parlementaires du Commonwealth faisant partie de délégations provenant de 126 assemblées législatives nationales et infranationales représentant 42 pays du Commonwealth, sous le thème : « Des parlements forts, inclusifs, accessibles et responsables : pierre angulaire de la démocratie et élément essentiel du développement. »

Les Présidents seront accompagnés d’une délégation fédérale de la Section canadienne de l’APC menée par Mme Alexandra Mendès, députée, ainsi que de plusieurs délégations provinciales et territoriales.

Le Comité exécutif international de l’APC et son secrétaire général Stephen Twigg, seront également présents. M. Twigg sera disponible pour accorder des entrevues tout au long de la conférence.

Le Président Rota a déclaré : « En ma qualité de président de l’APC, je suis ravi d’accueillir les parlementaires et leur personnel de l’ensemble du Commonwealth à Halifax, l’une des villes historiques du Canada. Au cours des prochains jours, je serai heureux de renouveler et de renforcer nos relations avec des présidents de parlements apparentés et unis par les valeurs immuables du Commonwealth. »

Séances de la conférence ouvertes aux médias

Les médias pourront assister aux séances décrites ci‑dessous. Pour ce faire, ils devront demander une accréditation avant le samedi 20 août, 20 h (HAA). On trouve des instructions détaillées et des informations dans le guide à l’intention des médias (PDF).

 

Ouverture officielle de la CPC — séance photo

Son Excellence la très honorable Mary Simon, gouverneure générale du Canada et vice-présidente d’honneur de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth (APC), ainsi que l’honorable Anthony Rota, député, Président de la Chambre des communes et président de l’APC, prononceront un discours d’ouverture devant l’assemblée des dignitaires et délégués.

Date :

mardi 23 août 2022

Heure :

17 h 30 (HAA)

Lieu :

Centre des congrès d’Halifax, 1650, rue Argyle, Halifax (Nouvelle‑Écosse)

Ouverture de la conférence des femmes parlementaires du Commonwealth

Date :

dimanche 21 août 2022

Heure :

15 h (HAA)

Lieu :

Centre des congrès d’Halifax, 1650, rue Argyle, Halifax (Nouvelle‑Écosse)

Ouverture de la conférence des petites sections

Date :

dimanche 21 août 2022

Heure :

15 h (HAA)

Lieu :

Centre des congrès d’Halifax, 1650, rue Argyle, Halifax (Nouvelle‑Écosse)

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, dont le programme officiel, les notices biographiques des délégués, le contenu des ateliers, les photos et des mises à jour régulières, visitez le site Web de la 65e CPC.

 

Renseignements

Heather Bradley 
Directrice des communications
Bureau de la présidence de la Chambre des communes
613‑292‑0881

heather.bradley@parl.gc.ca

--

Daniel Martineau

Agent des communications 

Affaires internationales et interparlementaires

613‑296‑1218 
daniel.martineau@parl.gc.ca