Ms. Rohini Kumari Kavirante MP

Member of Parliament
Parliament of Sri Lanka
Participates in 1 Session

Ms. Rohini Kumari Wijeratne is a member of the Parliament of Sri Lanka representing the Samagi Jana Balawegawa (SJB) party for the Matale District. She was elected into parliament in 2015 with the 3rdhighest preferential votes in respective party and re-elected in 2020 with the highest preferential votes.

Born in the rural village of Laggala in the Matale district, she is a daughter of the Late Minister for Agriculture and Marketing J.P. Wijeratne Banda, the daughter-in-law of Late Minister for Cultural Affairs P.B. Kavirathna and the wife of late Parliamentarian and member of Central Provincial Council, Sanjeewa Kavirathna.

She received her primary education at Laggala Pallegama Central College and Sri Sanghamiththa Girls’ College Matale and pursued her secondary education at Swarnamali Girls’ College and Kandy Girls’ High School.She is currently undertaking ahigher diploma in Counselling Psychologyat the University of Colombo.

Prior to being elected into parliament, she was employed as a teacher for nearly 2 decades across multiple prestigious schools in both Matale and Kandy districts.

During her tenure as a people’s representative in parliament, she fiercely advocates for gender equality and equity, education and educational reforms, rights and representation of teaching professionals and agriculture. She spearheaded the condemning of toxic fertilizer which was brought down to the country and mounted a stout political defence in attempting to stop the import of aforementioned. She also presented a private member motion into parliament on the account of banning conversion therapy with regards to the LGBTQI community.

She further functions as the deputy chairman of the Women Parliamentarians caucus in Parliament along with being a member of many other select committees in parliament. Mrs. Kavirathna has faced verbal sexual harassment in parliament and was brutally attacked in 1999 during an election while she was expecting a child. Today, she continues to advocate for the rights and safety of women and children, contributes for educational reforms andrestructuring, uplifting the agricultural sector and wide array of topics.

 

Sessions in which Ms. Rohini Kumari Kavirante MP participates

Monday 22 August, 2022

Time Zone: (GMT-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)

Share this

Ms. Rohini Kumari Kavirante MP

Députée
Parlement du Sri Lanka
Participe à 1 Session

Mme Rohini Kumari Wijeratne est un membre du Parlement du Sri Lanka représentant le parti Samagi Jana Balawegawa (SJB) pour le district de Matale. Elle a été élue au Parlement en 2015 avec le troisième plus grand nombre de voix préférentielles de son parti et réélue en 2020 avec le plus grand nombre de voix préférentielles.

Née dans le village rural de Laggala, dans le district de Matale, elle est la fille de feu le ministre de l’Agriculture et du Marketing, J. P. Wijeratne Banda, la belle-fille de feu le ministre des Affaires culturelles, P. B. Kavirathna, et l’épouse de feu le parlementaire et membre du Conseil provincial central, Sanjeewa Kavirathna.

Elle a fait ses études primaires au Laggala Pallegama Central College et au Sri Sanghamiththa Girls' College de Matale, et ses études secondaires au Swarnamali Girls' College et au Kandy Girls' High School. Elle prépare actuellement un diplôme supérieur en psychologie de l’orientation à l’Université de Colombo.

Avant d’être élue au Parlement, elle a été employée comme enseignante pendant près de 20 ans dans plusieurs écoles prestigieuses des districts de Matale et de Kandy.

Pendant son mandat de représentante du peuple au Parlement, elle a farouchement défendu l’égalité et l’équité entre les sexes, l’éducation et les réformes éducatives, les droits et la représentation des professionnels de l’enseignement et de l’agriculture. Elle a été le fer de lance de la condamnation des engrais toxiques importés dans le pays et a monté une défense politique vigoureuse pour tenter d’arrêter l’importation de ces produits. Elle a également présenté au Parlement une motion d’initiative parlementaire visant à interdire la thérapie de conversion pour la communauté LGBTQI.

Elle est également vice-présidente du caucus des femmes parlementaires au Parlement et membre de nombreux autres Comités spéciaux du Parlement. Mme Kavirathna a fait l’objet de harcèlement sexuel verbal au Parlement et a été brutalement agressée en 1999 lors d’une élection alors qu’elle attendait un enfant. Aujourd’hui, elle continue à défendre les droits et la sécurité des femmes et des enfants, à contribuer aux réformes et à la restructuration de l’éducation, à améliorer le secteur agricole et à s’occuper d’un large éventail de sujets.

Sessions auxquelles Ms. Rohini Kumari Kavirante MP participe

Lundi 22 août, 2022

Fuseau horaire: (GMT-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)